…her poetry corner…

the girl behind the mask…

standing tall March 23, 2007

Filed under: poems — herpoetrycorner @ 3:27 pm

Katie Collins & Her New Self-Portrait

 

 

 

She tried to draw her picture

It never came out right

She wanted to paint her picture

But was totally filled with fright

 

What will people say

What will people do

What would people think

If i drew it out with ink

I’m too scared to share my story

Too scared to pour my heart

Would they still care about me

If I included every part?

Would they know that I don’t have it together

If it was all laid out in paint

Would they know that I’m not perfect

Would they see how I’m no saint

She knew it was her choice

if she should choose to paint it all
But could it ever be something

She’d risk to leave hanging on the wall?
So much went through her mind

for, so much was in her heart

But when she took that empty canvass

it all came out like art.

 

After this, people might say

“She’s not so special after all!”

But as she finished, in God’s eyes

 

She stood 10ft tall

She took two steps back

To breathe it all in

And said with a smile,

“This just might win”.

 

Cuz it finally looks like me

With flaws and scars from my past

Yes it finally really is me

 

I admit i had a blast

As i was painting this picture of the girl

The girl behind the mask

They came and saw her artwork

She had hung everything on the wall

And it seemed to her

like they were all in awe
Then they came to the picture

but they still couldn’t see

Until she said…

“The girl in the picture…yes, that one is me.”

 

They stood there in silence

She reminded herself not to dart

As they looked at the parts

she had been hiding from the start.

 

But when they looked in her eyes

and saw how she had changed

She was willing to be honest

and they were able to say

 

That they still thought she was pretty

even without the mask

And she no longer needed anything

to hide the scars from her past

 

They asked her how she painted it

for it seemed like quite a task

But she said that it was easy

after…she removed her mask

 

My two hands are crafted by God

i can feel in my heart

that from the beginning

my hands were made for art.

 

So this is how i can praise Him

Yes this could be my song

I could choose to take the glory

But i feel that would be wrong

 

So you can take her artwork

and hang it on a rod

But give the glory to her maker

for her talent was given by God.


 

12/21/06—-5-6am

 

Leave a Reply

